AVA03 – VTCT (Skillsfirst) Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (RQF)

Qualification Summary

The VTCT (Skillsfirst) Level 3 Award in Assessing vocationally related achievement is intended for those who assess vocational skills, knowledge and understanding in environments other than the work environment (eg a workshop, classroom or other training environment.  It includes the following assessment methods (although not all of these require performance evidence:

  • assessments of the learner in simulated environments
  • examining products of work
  • skills test
  • oral and written questions
  • assignments
  • projects
  • case studies
  • recognising prior learning

If you just want to cover specific aspects of the assessment process, you could consider the following qualifications:

•  Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement (RQF)
•  Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment (RQF)
•  Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (RQF)

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress onto the:

•  Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)

VTCT (Skillsfirst) Level 3 and 4 Assessor and Quality Assurance (RQF) Qualification Handbook

Qualification structure

This qualification contains two mandatory units therefore all 9 credits must be achieved

Guided Learning Hours (GLH) are 54

Total Qualification Time (TQT) is 90

Qualification numberQualification reference

Mandatory units

unit no.
unit no.
Unit titleUnit LevelCredit Value
D/601/5313AV01Understanding the principles and practices of assessment33
F/601/5319AV03Assess vocational skills, knowledge and understanding36



To find out more about our registration/certification fees, contact our customer services team on
0121 270 5100 or  email us