CSPD2 – VTCT (Skillsfirst) Level 2 Diploma in Customer Service Practice (RQF)

Qualification summary

This qualification has been designed to meet both employer and individual demand for learners to meet the knowledge and competences outlined in the Customer Service Practitioner Apprenticeship standard. These include:

  • understanding the customer
  • understanding the organisation
  • self-management
  • supporting the customer focused experience and
  • communicating with customers.

The role of a customer service practitioner is to deliver high quality products and services to the customers of their organisation. Your core responsibility will be to provide a high-quality service to customers which will be delivered from the workplace, digitally, or through going out into the customer’s own locality. These may be one-off or routine contacts and include dealing with orders, payments, offering advice, guidance and support, meet-and-greet, sales, fixing problems, after care, service recovery or gaining insight through measuring customer satisfaction. You may be the first point of contact and work in any sector or organisation type.

The primary target group for this qualification would be all Apprentices who are enrolled on a Customer Service Practitioner standard. As a ‘stand-alone’ qualification, however, it would also appeal to learners in any sector that involved customer services responsibilities, such as, but not limited to:

  • Call centre operative
  • Shop assistant
  • Hair salon assistant
  • Bank assistant

and people looking for CPD for recognition or to advance their career.

On completion of this qualification you could progress onto the following VTCT (Skillsfirst) qualifications:

  • Level 3 Diploma in Business Administration (RQF)
  • Level 3 Diploma in Customer Service (RQF)
  • Level 3 Diploma in Team Management (RQF)
  • Level 3 Diploma in Management (RQF)

or similar higher-level qualifications.

VTCT (Skillsfirst) Level 2 Diploma in Customer Service Practice (RQF) Handbook

Qualification structure

All 5 units from Group M must be achieved to gain the qualification.

Total Qualification Time (TQT) is 390

Guided Learning Hours (GLH) are 231

Qualification numberQualification reference

Group M – mandatory units

unit no
unit no
Unit titleUnit LevelGLH
R/616/3717CPR1Understanding the customer235
Y/616/3718CPR2Understanding the organisation249
R/616/3720CPR4Supporting the customer focused experience256
Y/616/3721CPR5Communicating with customers228

To find out more please, contact our customer services team on 0121 270 5100 or email us